kodachromeproject.com Forums  

Go Back   kodachromeproject.com Forums > Kodachrome, Scanning and Output

Old 03-09-2011, 07:44 AM

andychrome is on a distinguished road
Default Kodachrome 64 scanning and color cast - using a Nikon coolscan

Hi. Just thought I would share some of my scanning experiences. Feel free to offer any suggestions - I am just starting to learn all about scanning. I have a Nikon Coolscan 5000 and have recently been scanning some Kodachrome 64 slides that are only a few years old.

First of all I use Nikon Scan with just the standard Kodachrome setting and ICE turned off. I have been thinking about Silverfast and the IT8 calibration but more on that later.

I took some images on a trip to Bryce Canyon and the Grand Canyon. The ones I have shown aren't great photographic images. I was expecting some blue cast issues as others have pointed out. It is interesting that one roll I took in Bryce Canyon came out pretty good - a little flat but not too bad. I then adjusted white/black points in photoshop and got a slight improvement - I havent shown this adjusted image.

But then I scanned some images from the Grand Canyon - wow - I take it this is the blue/magenta cast that others have mentioned. The film was just the consumer grade 64 - I seem to remember that it was within the exp date but I am not sure how it was stored before I bought it from the store. Maybe it had aged too much. I also set a white and black point in software and it improved it a bit but still doesnt quite look as I remember. It was a different time of day to the Bryce shots.

Images below
- Bryce base image
- Grand Canyon base image
- Grand Canyon with white and black points set