kodachromeproject.com Forums  

Go Back   kodachromeproject.com Forums > Kodachrome, Scanning and Output

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2013, 03:40 PM
Chris Sweetman Chris Sweetman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 225
Chris Sweetman is on a distinguished road
Default Anyone still scanning their Kodachrome slides?

If so what equipment are you currently using?

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2013, 05:00 AM
RichardE RichardE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 272
RichardE is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes....Epsom F-3200 with Silverfast software.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2013, 01:19 PM
kevinkar kevinkar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 75
kevinkar is on a distinguished road
Default

I've scanned all my Dad's old stuff and have not done any Kodachrome in a while but his sister found a stash of her husband's slides, many of which ARE Kodachrome and I will get to scan them when Dad's finished looking through them.

I still use my old Nikon LS-2000 and a combination of SilverFast 5.x, 6.x, and Vuescan Pro (whatever the current version is) as well as an Epson V700 and SilverFast 6.x. Both machine's versions of SilverFast are IT8 calibrated although my target is several years old. Still, I've checked the calibration profile against the first one I did when I got the target and the data is not significantly different which indicates to me the target is still good and properly stored.

The V700 does a decent job for a flatbed and can of course accept 12 slides at a time which speeds the process. The LS-2000, while old and outdated, has better dynamic range and can adjust its focus whereas the V700 can not, but the LS-2000 can of course only run one slide at a time.

My only other thought is to possibly replace the LS-2000 with the latest Plustek.

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2013, 06:39 AM
Chris Sweetman Chris Sweetman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 225
Chris Sweetman is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinkar View Post
I've scanned all my Dad's old stuff and have not done any Kodachrome in a while but his sister found a stash of her husband's slides, many of which ARE Kodachrome and I will get to scan them when Dad's finished looking through them.

I still use my old Nikon LS-2000 and a combination of SilverFast 5.x, 6.x, and Vuescan Pro (whatever the current version is) as well as an Epson V700 and SilverFast 6.x. Both machine's versions of SilverFast are IT8 calibrated although my target is several years old. Still, I've checked the calibration profile against the first one I did when I got the target and the data is not significantly different which indicates to me the target is still good and properly stored.

The V700 does a decent job for a flatbed and can of course accept 12 slides at a time which speeds the process. The LS-2000, while old and outdated, has better dynamic range and can adjust its focus whereas the V700 can not, but the LS-2000 can of course only run one slide at a time.

My only other thought is to possibly replace the LS-2000 with the latest Plustek.

Kevin
Thank you Kevin.

The Plustek range is an interesting one and this model caught my attention:

http://plustek.com/uk/products/optic...film-8200i-ai/

It is even bundled with SilverFast 8.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2013, 06:42 AM
Chris Sweetman Chris Sweetman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 225
Chris Sweetman is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardE View Post
Yes....Epsom F-3200 with Silverfast software.
This is an interesting piece of machinery Richard.

Review of the model here:

http://www.pcpro.co.uk/reviews/scann...5/epson-f-3200

Are you pleased with the results?

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2013, 06:43 AM
Chris Sweetman Chris Sweetman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 225
Chris Sweetman is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the replies

Now does anyone use a DSLR with a slide duplicator as a scanning method?

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2013, 12:31 PM
RichardE RichardE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 272
RichardE is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Sweetman View Post
This is an interesting piece of machinery Richard.

Review of the model here:

http://www.pcpro.co.uk/reviews/scann...5/epson-f-3200

Are you pleased with the results?

Chris
Yes, entirely satisified....A4 prints from parts of transparencies seem as good as you'd expect from darkroom prints. I have the Epsom R-800 printer which seems to match-up with the scanner well. I think that particular review is a little misleading on definition, etc., there is a much more comprehensive and careful review of about 10 pages somewhere on the web, though I can't spot it on Google just this minute.

Kodachrome isn't the easiest to scan, but the specialist Silverfast software is definitely better than the basic software. I've scanned a few sets of slides to make the equivalent of a "slideshow" on the TV.

But overall, I don't find good scanning and printing particularly quick or easy....and it just wouldn't be practical to even think about digitising a few 1000 slides! To me it's more like the occasional careful darkroom printing of a favorite negative. And, for "family snapshots" it's much easier to use the digital point-and-shoot to make quick 6x4 prints.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-18-2013, 01:13 PM
KR4myF2AS KR4myF2AS is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 239
KR4myF2AS is on a distinguished road
Default

Bump: Back to the matter of scanning our favourite film! And...remember the fate that awaits spammers!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2013, 12:09 PM
KR4myF2AS KR4myF2AS is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 239
KR4myF2AS is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KR4myF2AS View Post
Bump: Back to the matter of scanning our favourite film! And...remember the fate that awaits spammers!
And again....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-30-2013, 09:42 AM
sdkodachrome sdkodachrome is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 211
sdkodachrome is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardE View Post
Yes....Epsom F-3200 with Silverfast software.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Sweetman View Post
This is an interesting piece of machinery Richard.

Review of the model here:

http://www.pcpro.co.uk/reviews/scann...5/epson-f-3200
Does anyone know if there's an equivalent model for elsewhere in the world (such as the USA/Canada)? At least by this model number, this scanner doesn't seem to exist in the USA, but Epson (not Epsom ) is a common brand in the USA, so I'm wondering if it's just a matter of model numbers being different (say, because it comes with a different power supply for North America of course)?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.